Thanksgiving 2011

The First Thanksgiving, painted by Jean Leon G...

Image via Wikipedia

Thanksgiving – 2011

Hello everyone: I know I have been remiss in my blogging duties – primarily because of many of the things that I am so thankful for this year! There just aren’t enough hours in a day or days in a week to fit it all in.

My list of “what I am thankful for” this year is very similar to last year’s list, with a couple of notable exceptions.

Here is what I continue to be thankful for, and what I am newly thankful for, in 2011.

1. As always – my children. So ok, not so much “children” anymore, but all of you parents out there understand what I mean. I continue to be amazed at their bravery in following their own paths – Erin in her pursuit of an education that will support her desire to champion human rights and Patrick in his studies that allow him to understand and express the human condition so beautifully, while their less-than-brave mother followed a more practical and safer path. I am continually grateful that they allow me to live my dreams vicariously through them. I am also once again grateful that I can sit here writing while my daughter cooks in the kitchen on this Thanksgiving! The smells coming from the kitchen are delightful…

2. Honbun – as always my rock and the guy who makes it possible for me to do whatever it is that I seem to spend so much time doing. Because despite how many balls I manage to keep up in the air at work, I cannot manage to remember that my car needs gas. I am completely aware of how spoiled – and lucky – I am in having a partner like him. I am thankful for him every day of my life.

3. M*Modal. What can I say? I am amazed every day at the vision of Michael Finke and the rest of the team at M*Modal and after more than four years I still can’t believe I am lucky enough to work with them. This year I am also grateful for the opportunity MedQuist gives us in furthering our mission to serve health care.

4. My healthcare provider customers. I pinch myself every time I get to talk to people like those at Mayo Clinic, Geisinger Health System, and MD Anderson Cancer Center. These places and others like them are what health care aspires to be – and we at M*Modal aspire to serve.

5. University of Pittsburgh Health Information Management and Health Information Systems programs. What do they put in the water over there at Pitt that produces such knowledgeable HIM and HIS professionals? Under the leadership of Valerie Watzlaf, Patricia Anania-Firouzan, and the other staff members, this program is doing something right. Looking for talented HIM professionals? Looking for a terrific education in an important field? Look no further than Pitt.

6. Last – but in no way least! My new Health Information Services team at M*Modal. Dan Engel, Kaitlyn Crowther, and Nathan Gibbon (you’ve “met” them all previously on my blog). Related to item #5 on my list (all three are from Pitt), but also bringing their own unique attributes to the brand new team at M*Modal dedicated to learning about how M*Modal can better serve health care, these folks are such a pleasure to work with. I am having more fun working with these passionate and talented people than I’ve had in 30 years in the business. You’ll be hearing more from them as time goes by – and they leave me in the dust…

Wishing everyone a wonderful Thanksgiving…

Lynn Kosegi

M*Modal

2 Responses

  1. Lynn,
    Thank you for all that you’ve taught me this year.

    I found your Silver Bullet presentation at AHIMA absolutely inspiring.

    I picked up a few other lessons from you as well.

    Happy Holidays.

    Joe

    My latest thoughts on the Computer-Assistance that underlies your work is here: http://bit.ly/HealthTechNetJeopardy

    • Thanks so much Dr. Joe! I look forward to more conversations with you in the new year.

      All the best to you and yours for the holidays…
      Lynn

      Oh, and I’m commenting on your article right now!

Leave a Reply

